The U.S. Department of Energy Wind Powering America Program today announced that two Washington state public utility districts, Cowlitz County PUD and Klickitat PUD, are the co-winners of the 2009 Public Power Wind Pioneer Award for their outstanding teamwork and innovation in the development of the White Creek Wind Farm. The annual award was created in conjunction with American Public Power Association (APPA) and the Demonstration of Energy-Efficient Developments (DEED) Program to recognize pioneers in wind power.

A panel of wind, government, national laboratory, and public power experts from across the United States selected Cowlitz and Klickitat from sixteen public power utilities nominated for the award.