Yesterday, Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointment of Matthew Schuerger to the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (MPUC).  Mr. Schuerger will replace Commissioner Betsy Wergin, whose term expired January 4, 2016.  Governor Dayton’s Press Release can be found here.

The MPUC consists of five commissioners appointed by the governor to six-year, staggered terms. Under Minnesota law, no more than three commissioners can be of the same political party and at least one commissioner must reside at the time of appointment outside the Twin Cities metropolitan area.  Once Commissioner Wergin steps down, Commissioner Tuma will be the remaining outstate Commissioner.

Once Mr. Schuerger starts in his new role, all MPUC Commissioners will have been appointed by Governor Dayton.